On a bright sunny day, 24 teams converged at Bradfield College to take part in the ISFA Sixes competition

Group A

Repton got off to a strong start in the groups, securing their first three points in their opening game, finding their form, which they then took throughout the group stage, securing the full three points in every game and not conceding a goal topping the group. Hampton found a similar form, only dropping points in one of their matches, also progressing through to the cup. There was a tight battle for third and fourth, with third being claimed Brentwood and fourth Charterhouse who both progressed through to the plate competition. Both Westminster and Kimbolton put in strong performances, but unfortunately missed out on the top 4 places, ending their competition at the group stage.

Group B

Royal Russell, Manchester Grammar and Marlborough all opened their accounts with a win. Royal Russell continued their good form, winning four out of their 5 matches, topping the group progressing through to the cup competition. Manchester Grammar had a mixed group stage, winning three and losing two, but ultimately securing enough points to claim the runners up spot, progressing to the cup competition. City of London and Marlborough both had mixed competitions, but both picked up enough points to progress to the plate, with City of London in third place and Marlborough in fourth. Bradfield B and Winchester college both put in determined displays, but ultimately did not progress out of the group stage.

Group C

Bradfield got off to a strong start, securing points in all of their group games, winning four and drawing one, taking the top spot in the table, progressing through to the cup competition. Bedes joined them in the cup competition, winning three and drawing two of their games, without conceding a goal. Shrewsbury and Dulwich College both progressed through to the plate competition, securing third and fourth respectively after a competitive group stage. Tonbridge and Forest School both put in strong performances, but were unable to secure enough point to progress through to the next stages of the competition.

Group D

Alleyns and Queen Ethelburgas both got their competitions underway with a win in their opening matches. Alleyns continued their impressive run, only dropping points in their last group game, but already securing enough points to top the group and progress through to the cup. Queen Ethelburgas also continued their impressive run, finishing runners up in the group, also progressing through to the cup. Ardingly and Chigwell battled it out for third and fourth place, with Ardingly taking the third place spot and Chigwell fourth, progressing through to the plate competition. St Johns, Leatherhead and St Columbas showed good determination in their games, but were unable to secure enough points to progress through to the next round of the competition.

Cup Competition

In the first round of the cup competition Repton beat Queen Ethelburgas, Royal Russell beat Bedes, Bradfield beat Manchester Grammar and Hampton beat Alleyns all progressing to the semi-finals.
In the semi-finals Royal Russell beat Repton and Bradfield beat Hampton, both progressing to the final.

After a closely contested game, it was Royal Russell who edged the win against a strong Bradfield side.

Plate Competition

In the first round of the plate competition, Chigwell beat Brentwood, Dulwich beat City of London, Marlborough beat Shrewsbury after penalties and Ardingly beat Charterhouse all progressing through to the semi-finals.
In the semi-finals, Chigwell beat Dulwich and Marlborough beat Ardingly, both progressing to the final.

After a closely fought game between Chigwell and Marlborough, a penalty shootout was needed to determine a winner, of which Chigwell came out on top.


Date Cup Winners Plate Winners
1957 Malvern Brentwood
1958 Repton Bolton
1959 Bolton Malvern
1960 Bolton Hulme GS
1961 Malvern Latymer Upper
1962 No Tournament No Tournament
1963 Bolton Latymer Upper
1964 Wolverhampton GS Newport GS
1965 Manchester GS Peter Symonds
1966 Wolverhampton GS St. John's Southsea
1967 QEGS Blackburn Winchester
1968 No Tournament No Tournament
1969 Bolton Latymer Upper
1970 Bolton Eton
1971 QEGS Blackburn Alleyn's
1972 Bury GS QEGS Blackburn
1973 QEGS Blackburn King's Chester
1974 Bolton QEGS Blackburn
1975 Forest Shrewsbury
1976 Shrewsbury Wolverhampton GS
1977 Hulme GS, Oldham Shrewsbury
1978 QEGS Blackburn Repton
1979 No Tournament No Tournament
1980 Hulme GS Ardingly
1981 No Tournament No Tournament
1982 No Tournament No Tournament
1983 Chigwell King's Chester
1984 Bolton Chigwell
1985 Shrewsbury Wellingborough
1986 QEGS Blackburn Hampton
1987 Manchester GS Wolverhampton GS
1988 Hulme GS, Oldham Wolverhampton GS
1989 Manchester GS Alleyn's
1990 No Tournament No Tournament
1991 No Tournament No Tournament
1992 Forest Chigwell
1993 Brentwood Shrewsbury
1994 Wolverhampton GS Hampton
1995 Hampton Brentwood
1996 Wolverhampton GS Hampton
1997 Latymer Upper Aldenham
1998 Repton Bradfield
1999 Bolton Manchester GS
2000 No Tournament No Tournament
2001 Brentwood Hampton
2002 Bolton Millfield
2003 Charterhouse Latymer Upper
2004 St. Bede's College Bradfield
2005 Brentwood St. Bede's College
2006 Millfield Hulme GS, Oldham
2007 St. Bede's College Bolton
2008 Millfield Aldenham
2009 Bradfield Ardingly
2010 Repton Bradfield
2011 St. Bede's School Oldham Hulme GS
2012 Bede's St. Bede's College
2013 Ardingly Manchester GS
2014 Bradfield Bolton
2015 Repton Manchester GS
2016 Royal Russell Manchester GS
2017 Royal Russell Oswestry
2018 Royal Russell Bradfield
2019 City of London Westminster
2020 No Tournament No Tournament
2021 Royal Russell Chigwell

Read 35647 times
Tagged under